CCC Research Master

The two-years CCC Research Master Programme at HEAD – Geneva School of Art and Design

PDF 2016/17
PDF 2015/16

Where is the location from which to speak, in-between systems, technologies, generations, time-zones, crossing borders and entangled histories? What happens to ‘knowledge’ in a socio-technological epoch that predominately calculates the unknown into capital growth? If we are ‘planetary subjects rather than global agents’ (Gayatri Spivak), then our histories entangle on the street, through processes of transitional justice or during the work of translation. If the art of the 20th century produced a space to analyse social and political realities, then the art of the 21st century is the space to activate new vocabularies as realities inside of superstructures.

The CCC Research Master Programme is an international, bi-lingual and trans-disciplinary Graduate Programme at HEAD – Geneva School of Art and Design with particular focus on research methodologies through the arts under globalising conditions. Globalisation, migration, computation and climate are a few of the keywords that point to reordering processes on a planetary scale within contemporary societies.

CCC stands for critical, curatorial, cybernetic studies and opens towards horizons of conceptual, constellational, colonial, computational, compositional, cross-cultural, conversational, communal, cyclonopedic, correlational, cosmic, controversial or confessional investigations. In the context of a Research-Based Programme in the Arts of Higher Education in Europe, we need to rethink the localizations of knowledge in relation to our entanglement with geopolitical, post-historical, inhuman and energy infrastructures: Which knowledge? Whose knowledge? For which purposes? And how do we get there?

In the context of Higher Education in Europe, the CCC’s trans-disciplinary environment addresses future researchers from any cultural and educational background committed to art-led thinking processes with the objective to develop new vocabularies by the various means of research for articulating our being in the world of the 21st century.

The academic year 2016–17 of CCC brings forward the notion of ‘navigation’ as a proposal to think with or relate to in times of global turbulences. See the CCC Public Seminar Navigating Turbulences.

The CCC-Curriculum follows a transdisciplinary pedagogy informed by artistic thinking and operates through a bi-lingual (English/French) environment with a transcontinental group of faculty and students.

Structure

The Curriculum is built around two main educational elements dedicated to the individual and collective discussion of student’s work: Research Practices and Situated Art Practices. While the seminar Research Practices focuses on critical methodologies, Situated Art Practices develops project-related forms that translate research into specific public appearances such as presentation, exhibition and publications. Further seminars in Theory Fiction, Critical Theory, Political Studies, the Curatorial and the Reading Group are constitutive for students’ research. Students here learn about new concepts, encounter unfamiliar thoughts, test new ideas, and develop working protocols for conceiving their own research method

Method

During the two-years graduate studies, the CCC Master helps the candidates – collectively and individually – to render more precisely an own position from within his/her project by means of visual research, text-work and self-reflection. That approach, furthermore, includes a critical reflection what ‘research in arts’ means today and can do for us. By building its pedagogy on the idea of trans-disciplinarity, the CCC Research Master invites students of art and non-art backgrounds with different practices, geographies, languages, and work-approaches to process an original research proposal in the context of an art academy. The Programme provides an environment for the participants to develop their own working methodology over two years, articulating their research into a public statement.

Fields

Art-led research processes develop and take place through both practice-led theory and theory-active practice. Accordingly, the CCC addresses issues in critical visual cultural production, while also stretching into fields of geospatial politics, visual economics, science and technology. Research materials from political theory, cultural studies, postcolonial theory, politics of memory, contemporary art, architecture, design, filmmaking, journalism, l’écriture féminine and philosophy are given the same standing as critical resources from field trips, militant investigations, conceptual experimentation, decolonising processes, queer and social struggles.

Objectives

Students will graduate with a degree of Master of Arts HES-SO in Critical Curatorial Cybernetic Research Studies of the Visual Arts Department of HEAD – Genève, which will be awarded upon the successful defense of a writing practice that takes the form of the MA-thesis (7.000-14.000 words in English or French) and a non-writing practice that takes the form of the oral presentation (20 min) including visual, performative, spatial, philosophical, scientific, theoretical and/or activist elements or other time-based experimentations. The CCC also supports the development of work towards a PhD project. Furthermore, the participants will learn to situate their work into a salient, formative and enduring cross-section of theories, projects and debates. Beyond graduation, the Research Master activates student to build his/her own research library as a resource for future initiatives. The public appearances of the research-based and art-led work may extend beyond the art institution or the curated exhibition to also engage social and political organisations, self-organised and activist environments, computational platforms and hubs, second lives, non-governmental infrastructures and extra-state agencies. The CCC aims to further new vocabularies that can participate in debates in art, activism, political movements, social initiatives, situational interventions, institutional infrastructures and mobile curatorial projects.

Faculty

Responsible: Doreen Mende. Professors: Pierre Hazan, Samia Henni, Doreen Mende, Anne-Julie Raccoursier, Gene Ray. Visiting Professor: Kodwo Eshun. Assistants: Camilla L. Paolino, Mélissa Tun Tun.

Guests 2016/17

Maral Deghati, Charles Heller, Tom Holert, Volker Pantenburg, Denis Pernet, Susan Schuppli, Pascal Schwaighofer, Vera Tollmann, Françoise Vergès, among others.

Curriculum-related alliances take place with the Research Center for Proxy Politics and the Harun Farocki Institut.

Professors and Assistants can be contacted via forename.surname [at] hesge.ch

Concept website: Gregory Dapra and Laure Giletti.

CCC Master de Recherche

Master de Recherche en Arts Visuels, orientation CCC cursus de deux ans à la HEAD – Haute École d’Art et de Design, Genève.

PDF 2016/17
PDF 2015/16

Dans un labyrinthe de systèmes, technologies, générations, fuseaux horaires, frontières et histoires entrecroisées, quel est ce lieu d’où l’on peut parler? Qu’advient-il du «savoir», dans une époque socio-technologique où l’inconnu est souvent transformé en source de croissance capitalistique? Si nous sommes “des sujets planétaires, et non pas des agents mondiaux” (Gayatri Spivak), alors nos récits s’entrecroisent nécessairement, que ce soit dans la rue, via les processus de la justice transitionnelle ou encore dans ceux de la traduction. Si l’art du 20ème siècle a produit des espaces permettant d’analyser les réalités sociales et politiques, alors l’art du 21ème siècle consiste à créer les espaces où s’activent de nouveaux vocabulaires, donc de nouvelles réalités, à l’intérieur de superstructures.

Le Master de Recherche CCC est un cursus international, bilingue et transdisciplinaire post-Bachelor au sein de la HEAD. Les méthodologies de la recherche par les moyens de l’art tel qu’il s’exprime dans le contexte de la mondialisation figurent au cœur de son dispositif d’enseignement.
Mondialisation, migration, informatisation et climat sont quelques uns des mots-clés liés aux processus de réorganisation en cours à l’échelle planétaire, dans nos sociétés contemporaines.

L’acronyme CCC désigne les principaux domaines d’étude du cursus: études critiques, curatoriales et cybernetiques. Il intègre comme horizons de recherches des investigations de nature conceptuelles, constellationnelles, communales, coloniales, computationnelles, compositionnelles, cross-culturelles, conversationnelles, cyclonopédiques, corrélationnelles, cosmiques, controversées ou confessionnelles. Dans le contexte européen d’un programme de Master axé sur la recherche par les moyens de l’art, nous devons repenser les localisations du savoir en lien avec notre rapport complexe aux infrastructures géopolitiques, post-historiques, inhumaines et énergétiques: De quel savoir s’agit-il? À qui ce savoir appartient-il? À quelles fins? Et comment y accéder?

Dans le contexte européen de l’Enseignement Supérieur, l’environnement transdisciplinaire du CCC est ouvert à tout-e futur-e chercheuse et chercheur qui souhaite engager une réflexion intellectuelle par les moyens de l’art, quelle que soit sa formation initiale et ce, afin de développer, grâce à la recherche, de nouveaux vocabulaires nous permettant d’exprimer et de situer notre être-au-monde dans le 21ème siècle.

L’année académique 2016-17 du CCC met en exergue la notion de “navigation” et propose d’en faire le pivot de notre réflexion vis-à-vis des turbulences qui nous affectent à l’échelle mondiale. Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter la page du séminaire public du CCC: Navigating Turbulences.

L’enseignement du CCC adhère à une pédagogie transdisciplinaire fondée sur la pensée artistique. Les étudiant-e-s et enseignant-e-s, particulièrement cosmopolites, y jouissent d’un environnement de travail bilingue (français et anglais).

Structure

Le Programme d’études s’articule autour de deux unités pédagogiques centrales, consacrées aux travaux de recherche des étudiant-e-s ainsi qu’aux discussions, en tête-à-tête ou collectives, qu’ils provoquent: le séminaire Pratique de la Recherche et celui de Pratiques Artistiques Situées. Le séminaire Pratique de la Recherche se concentre sur les méthodes de recherche critiques, tandis que celui de Pratiques Artistiques Situées développe une réflexion sur les différentes formes de la recherche et les moyens spécifiques de la rendre publique (notamment par des présentations, expositions et publications). D’autres séminaires – Théorie-FictionThéorie CritiqueÉtudes Politiquesle Curatorial et le Groupe de Lecture – sont également essentiels à la recherche des étudiant-e-s. Ils/Elles y apprennent de nouveaux concepts, sont confronté-e-s à des modes de pensée inconnus, testent de nouvelles idées et développent ensemble des protocoles de travail afin de concevoir leur propre méthode de recherche en lien avec chaque projet.

Méthode

Au cours des deux années d’études supérieures, le Master de Recherche CCC aide les étudiant-e-s (à titre collectif et individuel) à rendre leur propre voix précise et distinct, à travers leur projet, par l’intermédiaire de la recherche visuelle, du travail d’écriture et de l’autoréflexion. Cette approche inclut également un questionnement critique sur ce que la “recherche en art” signifie aujourd’hui et sur son potentiel d’action. Fidèle à une pédagogie fondée sur l’idée de transdisciplinarité, le CCC accueille des étudiant-e-s issu-e-s de la constellation la plus large des formations pour développer une proposition de recherche originale au sein d’une école d’art. Le Master compte ainsi des étudiant-e-s diplômé-e-s de l’enseignement supérieur artistique, mais ne s’y limite pas. Une pluralité de pratiques, d’appartenances géographiques et linguistiques et d’approches du travail est souhaitée et bienvenue. L’environnement du cursus permet aux participant-e-s de développer leur propre méthodologie de travail sur deux années et de transformer leur recherche en une prise de position publique.

Champs

Les processus de recherche par les moyens de l’art recourent autant à la mise en œuvre de la pratique par la théorie qu’à celle de la théorie par la pratique. Ainsi, le CCC examine les problématiques de la production critique, visuelle et culturelle, mais embrasse également les sphères de la géopolitique, de l’économie visuelle, de la science et de la technologie. Les savoirs critiques acquis à l’occasion d’enquêtes de terrain, d’investigations militantes, d’expérimentations conceptuelles, de processus de décolonisation, de revendications queer et de luttes sociales sont traités avec autant d’égard que ceux tirés des recherches en théorie politique, “cultural studies”, études postcoloniales, politiques mémorielles, art contemporain, architecture, design, cinéma, journalisme, philosophie ou dans le champ de l’écriture féminine.

Objectifs

Le diplôme de Master of Arts HES-SO en Arts visuels avec orientation en CCC – Études critiques, curatoriales, cybernétiques est décerné aux étudiant-e-s qui soutiennent avec succès leurs mémoires de recherche respectifs (rédigé en français ou en anglais, d’une longueur comprise entre 7.000 et 14.000 mots), lors d’une présentation orale de 20 minutes qui reflète une ou plusieurs pratiques, telles que l’image, la performance, la spacialisation, le discours philosophique, scientifique ou théorique, l’engagement militant et/ou tout autre expérimentation passée ou en cours. Le CCC encourage également les étudiant-e-s à élaborer leur travail dans la perspective d’un projet de Doctorat (PhD). En outre, les participant-e-s apprennent à situer leur travail au carrefour de philosophies, de projets et de débats majeurs, formateurs et vivaces. le Master de Recherche CCC encourage les étudiant-e-s à construire leur propre bibliothèque de recherche, comme ressource s’étendant au-delà du diplôme vers de futures investigations. Les manifestations publiques d’un travail fondé sur la recherche et l’art pourront circuler au-delà de l’institution artistique ou de l’espace d’exposition curaté, pour interagir avec les collectifs scientifiques, les initiatives écologiques, les limites de la justices, le journalisme d’investigation, les cercles de l’autogestion, la militance, les plateformes et les pôles informatiques, les secondes vies, le secteur associatif et les structures non-étatiques.Le CCC a l’ambition de développer de nouveaux vocabulaires susceptibles d’enrichir le débat en matière d’art, d’activisme, de mouvements politiques et de projets curatoriaux mobiles.

Corps enseignant

Responsable: Doreen Mende. Enseignant-e-s: Pierre HazanSamia HenniDoreen MendeAnne-Julie RaccoursierGene Ray. Enseignant invité: Kodwo Eshun. Assistantes: Camilla L. Paolino, Mélissa Tun Tun.

Invité-e-s 2016/17

Maral DeghatiCharles Heller, Tom Holert, Volker Pantenburg, Denis Pernet, Susan SchuppliPascal Schwaighofer, Vera Tollmann, Françoise Vergès, entre autres.
Le programme du Master donne lieu à des alliances avec le Research Center for Proxy Politics et le Harun Farocki Institut.

Enseignant-e-s et Assistantes peuvent être contacté-e-s par courrier électronique en suivant le modèle suivant: prénom [point] nom de famille [at] hesge [point] ch

Conception du site internet: Gregory Dapra and Laure Giletti.